Marriage & Migration

“With you, I am Home β™₯”

Marriages are full of surprises, be it love or arranged. It’s all about the level of unknown territory u want to jump into – Known monster or unknown πŸ˜› . I decided to jump into the latter and have been lucky to have found a great husband- thanks to the scrutiny carried out by my dear brother.

DSC_5218

This is my take on my relocation from Mumbai to Abu Dhabi. Mine is an arranged marriage. When you have overcome the challenge of finding the suitable guy, & then there is a new trial in front of you when someone one says “He works abroad.” Ofcourse im not going to start a new life over skype! That’s how I reached Abu Dhabi immediately after marriage. I had to explore a new person and a new place, both together.

IMG-20170404-WA0006

I could see it getting tough. Living by myself and living independently all of a sudden, after living in this lovely shell of a family for 25 years, was demanding and burdensome in the beginning. It takes a toll on your emotions and you want to run back home..not even book a flight.. just run back home, through the Arabian Sea πŸ˜€

Screenshot_20170618-203423

Life here is pretty laid back. Life back home is on the go. It drizzles here once in a while. I miss the pouring rains and thunderbolts & the family gathering on electricity cuts. You’re struck by the extravagance of this place. The massive malls, stupendous structures, exorbitant labels, lavish lifestyle, marvellous cars & convenient lifestyle. But everything wears out when you miss your kin right? I can pen down a few of my initial experiences for you guys.

Deciding what to miss: I always begin with missing my parents, siblings, sister in law, niece & nephews, in-laws, friends, outings, some random grandma whom I met just once, something someone said in 2001. And I’m beginning to ask myself, what am I actually upset about right now. I CANT DECIDE!

picsart_12-19-11-45-46.jpg

Transport: I love autorickshaws, they’re everybody’s go to in India. The only option in Abu Dhabi is a taxi. U need a pass to get on to the buses, u can’t just hop into one.

DSC_0736

Mall Culture & Baqala: From seeing Apsara kirana stores & Bhagwati Kirana bazar to seeing just one name on all grocery shops here ” Baqala”, was a totally new concept for me. Also, you need a good stretching routine before you enter the mall to buy the smallest of things.

IMG-20160315-WA0019.jpeg

Food: Arabic food is light in taste. Shawarma is a saviour for me though. Vada pav with 3 chutneys isn’t available everywhere, and yes frankie rolls too. Miss the Indian street food! 😦

IMG_6650

Diversity: I have come across so many nationalities here. Filipinos, Indians, Pakistanis, Africans, Moroccans, Egyptians. British,  Australians, Americans and many more. It’s a learning experience meeting new people and exploring their cultures.

FB_IMG_1497815526490

Amidst all this, our marriage has prospered with a broad thinking and a lot of understanding and respect for each other because living in a foreign land, far from your loved ones is never easy. This journey here has been a rollercoaster ride and about a lot self-realisation & endearment.

Screenshot_20170618-203932

I’ve had my best friend, my husband along to make things easier, but when I imagine the lives of people who come to the Gulf for jobs and to start from the scratch, their set of circumstances would be a different story. However, this is a great country with all the glitz and glamour, supertall skyscrapers & stupendous infrastructure and much-needed rules and regulations.

But, Home Is Where The Heart Is β™₯

Leave a Reply

